On Sabbatical

Dear all,

I am on a temporary break (as I’m sure you’ve noticed), after which I intend to redo my schedule and continue with Northanger Abbey. My Jane Austen journey isn’t over (5 more books to go), but I have taken some time off due to my busy schedule at work and through my other interests; I apologize for the after-the-fact de facto announcement. I can’t wait until Pride and Prejudice, because I bought the 1995 special edition DVD in February and have been holding off  watching it (obviously) until I read that book!

Thanks,

– joseph

Explore posts in the same categories: Northanger Abbey, Pride and Prejudice

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “On Sabbatical”

  1. Sylwia Says:

    Good to hear from you! I was afraid that you lost interest. It’s a wise decision to not watch the series before reading the book. It’s good, but it clouds the picture in a way that’s difficult to get rid of once you’ve seen it. If you become impatient I’d suggest to put off NA and read P&P rather than watch the series in advance.

  2. Kaye Dacus Says:

    I admire your self-discipline in waiting to watch P&P. I’d wanted to read NA along with you, but with a book deadline (writing) coming up July 1, I’ve been too busy to do any reading as well. Hopefully by the time you can get back to this, I can catch up to you!

  3. Anaka Says:

    I’m impressed that you’ve been able to hold off on watching the film for so long, though I’m sure it will be worth it. Wonderful novel, and wonderful adaptation. Cannot wait to read what you think!

  4. ramsam Says:

    I just finished my first Jane Austen book. I have started many times but always given up about 20 pages in….
    this time I read S&S with my book club, my favorite movie by far. I have to say, the movie was better in some aspects (The BBC 2007 version, I think), Col Brandon being treated much more fairly and Marianne portrayed as falling in love with him, which is not in the book (except for a paragraph in the closing page).

    I am so glad I found your blog, for I am an avid reader but a skeptic of the hype of Austen…however, I enjoyed reading this book. I even bought P&P for the next time I feel so inclined!


  5. I love this blog! I am hosting a reading challenge over at my blog called Jane Austen is my Homegirl Reading Challenge 🙂 I think this would be something you might be interested in, as I am linking up all blogs who participate in the challenge, and it is a great way to get some targeted exposure for your blog. Here is the link if you are interested… http://thebookbuff.blogspot.com/p/jane-austen-is-my-homegirl-reading.html

    -Kate


Leave a Reply

